A day after the Major Arena Soccer League reintroduced the Rio Grande Valley Barracudas, the league welcomed back the Monterrey Flash at a press conference at Arena Monterrey.

The city of Monterrey has hosted five championship teams over 14 seasons in US-based leagues since 1993.  The Monterrey La Raza played 10 seasons between 1993 and 2010.  The Monterrey Fury played one season and part of a second season from 2003-05 and the Flash played two seasons before suspending operations after the 2014/15 season.

When we last saw the Flash they were celebrating their 2014/15 Ron Newman Cup victory over the Baltimore Blast in one of the most exciting finals in indoor soccer history.  They were led by legendary player/coach Genoni Martinez and team President Gerardo Guerra Lozano.

Guerra Lozano is back, but the team will now be coached by Mariano Bollella. Bollella is no stranger to Monterrey fans, having previously played for, and later coached La Raza.  He also coached the Flash in the Mexican circuit, LMFR, and coached the Rio Grande Valley Flash.  Bollella has also helmed Oxford City FC of Texas and the Las Vegas Legends.

Several Flash players from the 2014/15 season have moved on to other teams.  Diego Reynoso and Gustavo Rosales have spent the last two seasons with Soles de Sonora, Erick Tovar is a member of the San Diego Sockers, Alex Caceres is with the Ontario Fury, Jose Luis Birche is with the Harrisburg Heat, and Angel Curiel signed with the Milwaukee Wave after playing last season for the Cedar Rapids Rampage.

With the addition of the Flash, the MASL is now at 19 teams, plus a new Toronto team that will start play in 2018/19.